Charrington & Co. Ltd: Difference between revisions

From Brewery History Society Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
No edit summary
No edit summary
Line 11: Line 11:
The partnership of Charrington and Moss was first recorded at Mile End in 1770. Registered as Charrington & Co. Ltd in July 1897.
The partnership of Charrington and Moss was first recorded at Mile End in 1770. Registered as Charrington & Co. Ltd in July 1897.


* The company acquired the Abbey Brewery, Burton-on-Trent and rebuilt it in 1872: [[Charrington, Head & Co. Ltd.]]. The Abbey Brewery was sold in 1926 with 86 tied houses.
* The company acquired the Abbey Brewery, Burton-on-Trent and rebuilt it in 1872: [[Charrington, Head & Co. Ltd.]] The Abbey Brewery was sold in 1926 with 86 tied houses.


* [[Walker & Son Ltd]] of Gravesend were acquired in 1905 with 29 public houses, and the brewery closed in 1928.
* [[Walker & Son Ltd]] of Gravesend were acquired in 1905 with 29 public houses, and the brewery closed in 1928.
Line 27: Line 27:
* In 1952, they acquired 46 houses formerly of [[Kenward & Court Ltd]] (Hadlow, Kent) from Hammerton & Co. Ltd.
* In 1952, they acquired 46 houses formerly of [[Kenward & Court Ltd]] (Hadlow, Kent) from Hammerton & Co. Ltd.


* They acquired [[Kemp Town Brewery Ltd]] with 236 houses in 1954 and the brewery was vacated 1964-65.
* They acquired [[Kemp Town Brewery Ltd]] with 236 houses in 1954 and the brewery was vacated 1964-65.
 
* In 1960, they acquired [[Brutton, Mitchell, Toms Ltd]] of Yeovil. Brewing ceased 1965.





Revision as of 13:21, 5 February 2019

Charrington toby01.jpg
Charrington Royal Toby.jpg
Charrington 1.jpg
Charrington 2.jpg
Charrington ad.jpg
Charrington Anchor 1967.jpg
Charringtons acquired Taplow's Wine & Spirits in about 1926. This 'Toff' character came with Taplows - this example on the Pakenham Arms, WC1

Charrington & Co. Ltd, Anchor Brewery, Mile End Road, Tower Hamlets, London E1

The partnership of Charrington and Moss was first recorded at Mile End in 1770. Registered as Charrington & Co. Ltd in July 1897.

  • The company acquired the Abbey Brewery, Burton-on-Trent and rebuilt it in 1872: Charrington, Head & Co. Ltd. The Abbey Brewery was sold in 1926 with 86 tied houses.
  • Walker & Son Ltd of Gravesend were acquired in 1905 with 29 public houses, and the brewery closed in 1928.
  • Seabrooke & Sons Ltd of Grays, Essex were acquired in 1929 with 120 public houses and brewing ceased.
  • Thompson & Son Ltd of Walmer, Kent were acquired in 1951 with about 100 houses and brewing ceased there in 1953.
  • In 1952, they acquired 46 houses formerly of Kenward & Court Ltd (Hadlow, Kent) from Hammerton & Co. Ltd.


In 1962 they merged with United Breweries Ltd (formerly Northern Breweries of Great Britain Ltd) to form Charrington United Breweries Ltd. This company merged with Bass, Mitchells & Butlers Ltd 1967 to form Bass Charrington Ltd.


The Anchor Brewery closed in January 1975 and the brewery buildings have been demolished, but the offices survive.

There is a superb collection of archival photos of pubs in the Charrington archive that were previously owned by Hoare & Co on this website: https://www.historypin.org/en/hoare-co/



The London brewery features in The Noted Breweries of Great Britain and Ireland by Alfred Barnard published 1890.


The Burton brewery features in The Noted Breweries of Great Britain and Ireland by Alfred Barnard published 1890.


Views of the brewery etc:


The brewery in 2009:


Entry in the Trade Mark Registry

Registration No  : 537,222
Description  : Wings & words "CHARRINGTON"
Date of Application  : 05/12/1932
Used Prior to 1875?  : NO