Colchester Brewing Co. Ltd: Difference between revisions

From Brewery History Society Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
No edit summary
No edit summary
Line 31: Line 31:
Colchester Bwy Co 1996 aa.jpg |The brewery in 1996
Colchester Bwy Co 1996 aa.jpg |The brewery in 1996
Black Eagle Brewery Colchester -3.jpg  
Black Eagle Brewery Colchester -3.jpg  
Colchester Bwy Co 1996 cc.jpg
Colchester Bwy Co 1996 bb.jpg
</gallery>
</gallery>

Revision as of 15:21, 28 August 2015

Colchester Brewing Co. Ltd, Eagle Brewery, East Hill, Colchester, Essex.

Founded 1828 by Christopher Stopes and Robert Hurnard. Christopher Stopes & Sons were acquired in January 1887 by the Norfolk & Suffolk Brewery Co. Ltd. who then changed their title as above in September 1887.

Also at Langham until 1887.

Acquired by Ind Coope Ltd. 1925 and was closed. Some of their 225 public houses were sold to Lacon & Co. Ltd. in 1926.

Brewery still standing.


Colchester Brewing Co. Ltd, Falcon Brewery, 5 Falcon Street, Ipswich, Suffolk.

Founded c.1855 by Alfred Bowman.

Acquired by Bridges, Cuthbert & Co.1864 and was registered June 1866 as Bridges, Cuthbert & Co. Ltd. to acquire the Falcon Brewery and the Cross Keys Brewery, Culver Street, Colchester (closed 1880).

Bankrupt 1868. Registered October 1886 as the Norfolk & Suffolk Brewery Co. Ltd to acquire Bridges, Cuthbert & Co. Ltd. and Harwood & Co, Eye Brewery. Name changed to the Colchester Brewing Co. Ltd. July 1887 and Falcon Brewery closed.

Acquired by Ind Coope Ltd. 1925 with 319 public houses.


An assortment of images of the Colchester brewery