St Anne's Well Brewery Co. Ltd: Difference between revisions

From Brewery History Society Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
No edit summary
No edit summary
Line 9: Line 9:
Harding & Richards moved to this site from Cowick Street in 1828. A new brewery was built in 1878. Registered in 1889.  
Harding & Richards moved to this site from Cowick Street in 1828. A new brewery was built in 1878. Registered in 1889.  


A partial amalgamation with [[Norman & Pring ]]Ltd. took place in 1944, both companies being run separately until completely merged in 1956.  
A partial amalgamation with [[Norman & Pring ]]Ltd. took place in 1943, both companies being run separately.  


78 public houses.  
Brewing was concentrated at St Annes in 1956 with bottling at the City Brewery.  


Brewing ceased 1967/68.
The brewery closed in 1965 following the [[Whitbread & Co. Ltd]] take over of Norman & Pring in 1962.  


Much of the site remains intact.
Converted to commercial and residential use.





Revision as of 13:18, 5 January 2016

St Anne 01.jpg
The brewery offices in the city centre.
St Anne 02.jpg
St Anne 04.jpg

St Anne's Well Brewery Co. Ltd, Low North Street, Exeter, Devon.

Founded c.1819.

Harding & Richards moved to this site from Cowick Street in 1828. A new brewery was built in 1878. Registered in 1889.

A partial amalgamation with Norman & Pring Ltd. took place in 1943, both companies being run separately.

Brewing was concentrated at St Annes in 1956 with bottling at the City Brewery.

The brewery closed in 1965 following the Whitbread & Co. Ltd take over of Norman & Pring in 1962.

Converted to commercial and residential use.


List of St Anne's Well Brewery Co Ltd pubs


An assortment of views of the brewery

Entry in the Trade Mark Registry

Registration No  : 42,894
Description  : Words "St Anne's Well
Date of Application  : 14/2/1885
Used Prior to 1875?  : NO