Devenish & Co. Ltd: Difference between revisions

From Brewery History Society Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
No edit summary
No edit summary
Line 5: Line 5:
[[File:BathCoeurDeLion84_SP_June2010.jpg|thumb|Coeur De Lion, Bath]]
[[File:BathCoeurDeLion84_SP_June2010.jpg|thumb|Coeur De Lion, Bath]]
[[File:DevenishTurksHead.JPG|thumb]]
[[File:DevenishTurksHead.JPG|thumb]]
<big>'''Devenish & Co. Ltd''', ''Hope Square, Weymouth, Dorset''</big>
<big>'''Devenish & Co. Ltd''', ''Hope Square, Weymouth, Dorset''</big>


<big>'''Devenish & Co. Ltd''', ''Chapel Street, Redruth, Cornwall''</big>
<big>'''Devenish & Co. Ltd''', ''Chapel Street, Redruth, Cornwall''</big>


Founded in 1742 by the Fowler family and acquired by William Devenish in 1824. Registered in 1889 as J.A.Devenish & Co. Ltd. and name was changed as above 1965.
It is thought that brewing has taken place on this site since the 13th century. The current enterprise was founded in 1742 by the Fowler and Flew families, and acquired by William Devenish in 1824. Registered in 1889 as '''J A Devenish & Co Ltd''' and name was changed as above 1965.


* [[Mallett's Brewery]] of Truro was acquired in 1921.
* [[W & E C Carne: Falmouth Brewery|Carne's Falmouth Brewery]] was also acquired in 1921 and brewing ceased in 1926.
* [[Aylwin & Snowden]] of Exeter was acquired in 1925.
* In 1934, they acquired the Redruth Brewery Co. Ltd. For information on Redruth, see: [[Cornish Brewery Co. Ltd]].
* In 1934, they acquired the Redruth Brewery Co. Ltd. For information on Redruth, see: [[Cornish Brewery Co. Ltd]].
* They acquired the adjacent [[Groves & Sons Ltd]], Hope Brewery, Weymouth in 1960 with 115 public houses.


* They acquired the adjacent [[Groves & Sons Ltd]], Hope Brewery, Weymouth in 1960 with 115 public houses.
330 tied houses. Brewing ceased at Weymouth in November 1985 and was concentrated at Redruth as the Redruth Brewery (1742) Ltd. Brewing ceased at Redruth in 1991. The tied house estate was acquired by [[Greenall Whitley & Co. Ltd]] in 1993.
 
330 tied houses. Brewing ceased at Weymouth November 1985 and was concentrated at Redruth as the Redruth Brewery (1742) Ltd. Brewing ceased at Redruth in 1991. The tied house estate was acquired by [[Greenall Whitley & Co. Ltd]] in 1993.


* '''[[List of Devenish & Co (Weymouth) pubs]]'''
* '''[[List of Devenish & Co (Weymouth) pubs]]'''
Line 41: Line 44:


<gallery>
<gallery>
File:Devonish playing card.jpg
Image:Devenish 02.jpg
Image:Devenish 02.jpg
Image:Devenish 05.jpg
Image:Devenish 05.jpg
Line 64: Line 66:
Image:Devenish 28.jpg|The installation of a new boiler
Image:Devenish 28.jpg|The installation of a new boiler
File:WeymouthDevenish01_SP_May1990.jpg|1990
File:WeymouthDevenish01_SP_May1990.jpg|1990
</gallery>
'''Labels, advertising, etc'''
File:Devenish Weymouth 5 June 1978.jpg|Courtesy Roy Denison
File:Devenish Weymouth 5 June 1978.jpg|Courtesy Roy Denison
File:Devonish Weymouth RD zx (6).jpg |Courtesy Roy Denison
File:Devonish Weymouth RD zx (6).jpg|Courtesy Roy Denison
File:Devonish Weymouth RD zx (4).jpg |Courtesy Roy Denison
File:Devonish Weymouth RD zx (4).jpg|Courtesy Roy Denison
File:Devonish Weymouth RD zx (3).jpg |Courtesy Roy Denison
File:Devonish Weymouth RD zx (3).jpg|Courtesy Roy Denison
File:Devonish Weymouth RD zx (2).jpg |Courtesy Roy Denison
File:Devonish Weymouth RD zx (2).jpg|Courtesy Roy Denison
File:Devonish Weymouth RD zx (1).jpg |Courtesy Roy Denison
File:Devonish Weymouth RD zx (1).jpg|Courtesy Roy Denison
File:Devenish Redruth RD zmx 1.jpg|Courtesy Roy Denison
File:Devenish Redruth RD zmx 1.jpg|Courtesy Roy Denison
File:Devenish Redruth RD zmx 2.jpg|Courtesy Roy Denison
File:Devenish Redruth RD zmx 2.jpg|Courtesy Roy Denison
File:Devenish RD zmx.jpg |Courtesy Roy Denison
File:Devenish RD zmx.jpg|Courtesy Roy Denison
File:Devenish beer mat RD zmc (1).jpg |Courtesy Roy Denison
File:Devenish beer mat RD zmc (1).jpg|Courtesy Roy Denison
File:Devenish beer mat RD zmc (2).jpg |Courtesy Roy Denison
File:Devenish beer mat RD zmc (2).jpg|Courtesy Roy Denison
File:Devonish playing card.jpg
</gallery>
</gallery>



Revision as of 19:04, 16 December 2020

Extra Stout
K Bitter Ale
1948
1969
Coeur De Lion, Bath
DevenishTurksHead.JPG

Devenish & Co. Ltd, Hope Square, Weymouth, Dorset

Devenish & Co. Ltd, Chapel Street, Redruth, Cornwall

It is thought that brewing has taken place on this site since the 13th century. The current enterprise was founded in 1742 by the Fowler and Flew families, and acquired by William Devenish in 1824. Registered in 1889 as J A Devenish & Co Ltd and name was changed as above 1965.

330 tied houses. Brewing ceased at Weymouth in November 1985 and was concentrated at Redruth as the Redruth Brewery (1742) Ltd. Brewing ceased at Redruth in 1991. The tied house estate was acquired by Greenall Whitley & Co. Ltd in 1993.


Courtesy Paul Hathaway:

Weymouth Harbour with Groves and Devenish.JPG

Weymouth Harbour, taken from a ship on the east side of the Harbour looking towards towards Hope Square and the Devenish and Groves Breweries.

Hope Square is to the rear of the buildings in the dead centre of the picture. The white building on the right of the is the Old Rooms Inn, while the building with the two cream porticos is the Cove Inn, both now closed. The Old Rooms was one of the last pubs to be gas lit.


The Redruth Brewery in 1977. Courtesy Roy Denison


Various views of the brewery


Labels, advertising, etc

File:Devenish Weymouth 5 June 1978.jpg|Courtesy Roy Denison File:Devonish Weymouth RD zx (6).jpg|Courtesy Roy Denison File:Devonish Weymouth RD zx (4).jpg|Courtesy Roy Denison File:Devonish Weymouth RD zx (3).jpg|Courtesy Roy Denison File:Devonish Weymouth RD zx (2).jpg|Courtesy Roy Denison File:Devonish Weymouth RD zx (1).jpg|Courtesy Roy Denison File:Devenish Redruth RD zmx 1.jpg|Courtesy Roy Denison File:Devenish Redruth RD zmx 2.jpg|Courtesy Roy Denison File:Devenish RD zmx.jpg|Courtesy Roy Denison File:Devenish beer mat RD zmc (1).jpg|Courtesy Roy Denison File:Devenish beer mat RD zmc (2).jpg|Courtesy Roy Denison File:Devonish playing card.jpg </gallery>


Ordnance Survey map extracts from 1863. "Reproduced with the permission of the National Library of Scotland" http://maps.nls.uk/index.html: