Taylor, Walker & Co. Ltd: Difference between revisions

From Brewery History Society Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
No edit summary
No edit summary
 
Line 4: Line 4:
[[File:Taylor Walker Limehouse.jpg|thumb]]
[[File:Taylor Walker Limehouse.jpg|thumb]]
[[File:Taylor Walker.jpg|thumb]]
[[File:Taylor Walker.jpg|thumb]]
[[File:TaylorWalkerMirror_DDines.jpg|thumb|In the Seaview Hotel, IOW]]
[[File:Taylor Walker 1961  sale catalogue (8).jpg|thumb|From the 1961 sale catalogue]]
[[File:TW Van Reserve.jpg|thumb]]


<big>'''Taylor, Walker & Co. Ltd''', ''Barley Mow Brewery, Church Row, Limehouse, London E14.''</big>
<big>'''Taylor, Walker & Co. Ltd''', ''Barley Mow Brewery, Church Row, Limehouse, London E14.''</big>


Founded 1730 as Hare & Salmon, Fore Street, Stepney. Partnership of Edward Vickeris Taylor and Truman Harford by 1796, then John Vickeris Taylor, John & Isaac Walker and Samuel Jones in 1816.  
Founded 1730 as Hare & Salmon, Fore Street, Stepney. Partnership of Edward Vickeris Taylor and Truman Harford by 1796, then John Vickeris Taylor, John & Isaac Walker and Samuel Jones in 1816. The Barley Mow Brewery was rebuilt in 1889. Registered March 1907.  


The Barley Mow Brewery was rebuilt in 1889. Registered March 1907.
Acquired by [[Ind Coope Ltd]] in 1959 with 1,360 houses & off-licences and brewing ceased in 1960. The Taylor Walker name was later adopted as a brand by the Spirit Pub Co, then by Greene King.
 
Acquired by [[Ind Coope Ltd]] in 1959 with 1,360 houses & off-licences and brewing ceased in 1960.
 
The Taylor Walker name was later adopted as a brand by the Spirit Pub Co, then by Greene King.


* '''[[Taylor, Walker & Co Takeover Trail]]'''
* '''[[Taylor, Walker & Co Takeover Trail]]'''
Line 19: Line 18:




'''Images of the brewery'''
'''Click on the left or right buttons to scroll through our gallery of the brewery. Click on the Toggle button in the centre to see the thumbnails'''
 
<gallery mode="slideshow">
<gallery>
File:TW Van Reserve.jpg
File:Taylor Walkers bottling plant c1950s (2).jpg|The Bottling Plant circa 1950
File:Taylor Walkers bottling plant c1950s (2).jpg|The Bottling Plant circa 1950
File:Taylor Walkers bottling plant c1950s (1).jpg|The Bottling Plant circa 1950
File:Taylor Walkers bottling plant c1950s (1).jpg|The Bottling Plant circa 1950
Line 28: Line 25:
File:Taylor Walker bc.jpg
File:Taylor Walker bc.jpg
File:Taylor Walker Limehouse 2.jpg
File:Taylor Walker Limehouse 2.jpg
</gallery>
File:Tayler Walker sale catalogue 1961 (1).jpg|From the 1961 sale catalogue
 
File:Tayler Walker sale catalogue 1961 (2).jpg|From the 1961 sale catalogue
 
File:Tayler Walker sale catalogue 1961 (3).jpg|From the 1961 sale catalogue
'''From the 1961 sale catalogue'''
File:Taylor Walker 1961  sale catalogue (2).jpg|From the 1961 sale catalogue
 
File:Taylor Walker 1961  sale catalogue (3).jpg|From the 1961 sale catalogue
<gallery>
File:Taylor Walker 1961  sale catalogue (4).jpg|From the 1961 sale catalogue
File:Taylor Walker 1961  sale catalogue (8).jpg
File:Taylor Walker 1961  sale catalogue (5).jpg|From the 1961 sale catalogue
File:Taylor Walker 1961  sale catalogue (2).jpg
File:Taylor Walker 1961  sale catalogue (6).jpg|From the 1961 sale catalogue
File:Taylor Walker 1961  sale catalogue (3).jpg
File:Taylor Walker 1961  sale catalogue (7).jpg|From the 1961 sale catalogue
File:Taylor Walker 1961  sale catalogue (4).jpg
File:Taylor Walker 1961  sale catalogue (12).jpg|From the 1961 sale catalogue
File:Taylor Walker 1961  sale catalogue (5).jpg
File:TW Demolition (1).jpg|The demolition of the brewery
File:Taylor Walker 1961  sale catalogue (6).jpg
File:TW Demolition (2).jpg|The demolition of the brewery
File:Taylor Walker 1961  sale catalogue (7).jpg
File:TW Demolition (3).jpg|The demolition of the brewery
File:Taylor Walker 1961  sale catalogue (12).jpg
File:TW Demolition (4).jpg|The demolition of the brewery
File:Tayler Walker sale catalogue 1961 (1).jpg
File:TW Demolition (5).jpg|The demolition of the brewery
File:Tayler Walker sale catalogue 1961 (2).jpg
File:TW Demolition (6).jpg|The demolition of the brewery
File:Tayler Walker sale catalogue 1961 (3).jpg
File:TW Demolition (7).jpg|The demolition of the brewery
</gallery>
File:TW Demolition (8).jpg|The demolition of the brewery
 
File:TW Demolition (9).jpg|The demolition of the brewery
 
File:TW Demolition (10).jpg|The demolition of the brewery
'''The demolition of the brewery'''
 
<gallery>
File:TW Demolition (1).jpg
File:TW Demolition (2).jpg
File:TW Demolition (3).jpg
File:TW Demolition (4).jpg
File:TW Demolition (5).jpg
File:TW Demolition (6).jpg
File:TW Demolition (7).jpg
File:TW Demolition (8).jpg
File:TW Demolition (9).jpg
File:TW Demolition (10).jpg
</gallery>
</gallery>


Line 77: Line 61:
File:Taylor Walker RD zx (6).jpg |Courtesy Roy Denison
File:Taylor Walker RD zx (6).jpg |Courtesy Roy Denison
File:Taylor Walker RD zx (7).jpg |Courtesy Roy Denison
File:Taylor Walker RD zx (7).jpg |Courtesy Roy Denison
Taylor Walker Mainline RD zx.jpg|Courtesy Roy Denison
File:Taylor Walker Mainline RD zx.jpg|Courtesy Roy Denison
</gallery>
</gallery>


Line 83: Line 67:
|regno2 = 520,019|desc2=Labels|date2=03/02/1931|seventy2=NO
|regno2 = 520,019|desc2=Labels|date2=03/02/1931|seventy2=NO
|regno3 = 520,020|desc3=Labels|date3=03/02/1931|seventy3=NO}}
|regno3 = 520,020|desc3=Labels|date3=03/02/1931|seventy3=NO}}
[[Category:Greater London]]
[[Category:Greater London]]

Latest revision as of 15:24, 20 September 2025

Messrs. Taylor, Walker & Co’s., New (Barley Mow) Brewery, Limehouse, London E14. Brewers' Journal 15th October 1889
In the Seaview Hotel, IOW
From the 1961 sale catalogue

Taylor, Walker & Co. Ltd, Barley Mow Brewery, Church Row, Limehouse, London E14.

Founded 1730 as Hare & Salmon, Fore Street, Stepney. Partnership of Edward Vickeris Taylor and Truman Harford by 1796, then John Vickeris Taylor, John & Isaac Walker and Samuel Jones in 1816. The Barley Mow Brewery was rebuilt in 1889. Registered March 1907.

Acquired by Ind Coope Ltd in 1959 with 1,360 houses & off-licences and brewing ceased in 1960. The Taylor Walker name was later adopted as a brand by the Spirit Pub Co, then by Greene King.


Click on the left or right buttons to scroll through our gallery of the brewery. Click on the Toggle button in the centre to see the thumbnails


Labels, Publicity, etc

Entry in the Trade Mark Registry

Registration No  : 520,018
Description  : Labels
Date of Application  : 03/02/1931
Used Prior to 1875?  : NO


Registration No  : 520,019
Description  : Labels
Date of Application  : 03/02/1931
Used Prior to 1875?  : NO


Registration No  : 520,020
Description  : Labels
Date of Application  : 03/02/1931
Used Prior to 1875?  : NO