Constable & Sons Ltd

From Brewery History Society Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Henty & Cons.jpg
Constable Arundel flagon xx.jpg
The Anchor Brewery, Littlehampton

G S Constable & Sons Ltd, Swallow Brewery, Queen Street, Arundel, West Sussex.

The Swallow Brewery dated back to the 18th century. In 1870, John Constable acquired the Littlehampton brewery.

G S Constable & Sons Ltd, Anchor Brewery, High Street, Littlehampton, West Sussex.

James Corfe started the Littlehampton brewery in 1816 and it was taken over by G B Puttock in 1850.

John Constable of Arundel acquired the firm in 1870, building the Anchor Brewhouse a year later.

Registered 1904. The Littlehampton brewery was closed in 1917 and brewing was transferred to Arundel.

In 1921, the company merged with G Henty & Sons Ltd of Chichester to form Henty & Constable Ltd. Brewing ceased at Arundel in 1922; some buildings survive here.

Jimmy Hastell writes:-

Anchor Brewery, High Street, Littlehampton

James Corfe started the brewery in 1816, which was taken over in 1850 by GB Puttock. In 1870 John Constable took it over and extended the buildings and yard, building the landmark square tower in 1871. The brewery employed 60 men and had stabling in Duke Street. It was closed in 1917 and the brewing business transferred to the Swallow Brewery in Arundel. The front of the building remained as an off licence until 1921.

The old brewery under the new ownership of Henty & Constable Ltd turned its hand to producing mineral water under the name of Anchor Springs. The water came from a well on the site reported to be 97 meters deep.

The iconic tower was cut down in 1940 to prevent it being a landmark for German aircraft.

The Arundel site

The Littlehampton site